25th ACM International Conference on Multimodal Interaction
(9-13 October 2023)



Call for Bids 2025



Registration (closed)



Grand Challenges

Presentation Instruction

Doctoral Consortium



Companion Proceedings

Camera-Ready Instructions

Call for Sponsors

Call for Papers

Guidelines for Authors

Guidelines for Reviewers

Call for Blue Sky Papers

Call for Late Breaking Results

Call for Demonstrations
and Exhibits

Call for Doctoral Consortium

Call for Tutorials

Important Dates


Conference venue

Platinum Sponsor

Bronze Sponsor


Institutional Sponsors



Best Paper Awards

  • EEG-based Cognitive Load Classification using Feature Masked Autoencoding and Emotion Transfer Learning
    • Dustin Pulver, Prithila Angkan, Paul Hungler and Ali Etemad
  • AQ-GT: a Temporally Aligned and Quantized GRU-Transformer for Co-Speech Gesture Synthesis
    • Hendric Voß and Stefan Kopp

    Ten-Year Technical Impact Award

    • Multi-modal gesture recognition challenge 2013: Dataset and results.
      • Escalera, Sergio, Jordi Gonzàlez, Xavier Baró, Miguel Reyes, Oscar Lopes, Isabelle Guyon, Vassilis Athitsos, and Hugo Jair Escalante.
      • In Proceedings of the 15th ACM on International conference on multimodal interaction, pp. 445-452. 2013

    Ten-Year Technical Impact Runner-Up

    • Emotion recognition in the wild challenge 2013.
      • Dhall, Abhinav, Roland Goecke, Jyoti Joshi, Michael Wagner, and Tom Gedeon.
      • In Proceedings of the 15th ACM on International conference on multimodal interaction, pp. 509-516. 2013.

    Ten-Year Technical Impact Runner-Up

    • Combining modality specific deep neural networks for emotion recognition in video.
      • Kahou, Samira Ebrahimi, Christopher Pal, Xavier Bouthillier, Pierre Froumenty, Çaglar Gülçehre, Roland Memisevic, Pascal Vincent, Aaron Courville, Yoshua Bengio, Raul Chandias Ferrari, Mehdi Mirza, Sébastien Jean, Pierre-Luc Carrier, Yann Dauphin, Nicolas Boulanger-Lewandowski, Abhishek Aggarwal, Jeremie Zumer, Pascal Lamblin, Jean-Philippe Raymond, Guillaume Desjardins, Razvan Pascanu, David Warde-Farley, Atousa Torabi, Arjun Sharma, Emmanuel Bengio, Myriam Côté, Kishore Reddy Konda, and Zhenzhou Wu.
      • In Proceedings of the 15th ACM on International conference on multimodal interaction, pp. 543-550. 2013.

    Sustained Achievement Award

    • Louis-Philippe Morency


    Community Service Award

    • Carlos Busso


    Blue Sky Papers

    • FIRST PLACE: From Natural to Non-Natural Interaction: Embracing Interaction Design Beyond the Accepted Convention of Natural
      • Radu-Daniel Vatavu. MintViz Lab, MANSiD Research Center, Stefan cel Mare University of Suceava
    • SECOND PLACE: A New Theory of Data Processing: Applying Artificial Intelligence to Cognition and Humanity
      • Jingwei Liu. University of California San Diego
    • THIRD PLACE: Towards Adaptive User-centered Neuro-symbolic Learning for Multimodal Interaction with Autonomous Systems
      • Amr Gomaa. German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI),Saarland Informatics Campus
      • Michael Feld. German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI)

    Outstanding Reviewer Awards

    • Bivas Mitra
    • Brandon Booth
    • Daniel Adler
    • David Robb
    • Hashini Senaratne
    • Ioan Marius Bilasco
    • Joakim Gustafson
    • Lale Akarun
    • Laura Cabrera-Quiros
    • Maria Koutsombogera
    • Michelle Annett
    • Nuno Otero
    • Patrick Ehlen
    • Roger Moore
    • Shreya Ghosh
    • Teruhisa Misu
    • Tomi Heimonen
    • Vit Rusnak
    • William Delamare
    • Yunus Terzioglu
    • Yuuki Nishiyama